Personal Stories

Has Religion made a difference in your life? 

In what ways have your prayers been answered?

When I read the Book of Mormon the first time from cover to cover, my prayers about it were slowly being answered and when I read the history of the boy prophet Joseph Smith and learned what he had to go through to get the book published and establish the church I was convinced that there was something about the church that needed further investigation. I had a strong desire to return to full activity, however; My lifestyle was totally inappropriate. I had a full liquor Cabinet and a supply of other things that were against the church’s law of health as outlined in the Word of Wisdom. I remembered this from my brief association with the church during my youth. I prayed fervently for guidance and strength. I was prompted to throw all my contraband into the garbage. So with one more prayer that I would not return to retrieve my coffee, tea, alcohol, and tobacco, I dumped it all, and the next day I went to church. In church I felt the blessings of the Holy Spirit, and I found that the love and acceptance of the members gave me the strength I needed not to return to the garbage can. I am truly thankful for the power of prayer. In this instance, and I know it helped me escape a dark end to my life. My father was an alcoholic and died at age 47 in an alley in Spokane Washington. My older brother was also an alcoholic who also died at an early age. Prior to my conversion my life had all the earmarks of a budding alcoholic, and in all probability, if I had not found the strength to offer that prayer and act upon the promptings of the Holy Ghost I would probably be dead by now. This experience happened 52 years ago, and I thank God for it whenever the memory crosses my mind.

About bmwillson1936

I was born with writer's DNA, but it receded to the depths of my soul when I encountered the bitter facts of life.Much later after five decades of living I was assigned by my employer to write legal conveyances of land documents, and this drew out my natural love of words and putting ideas into the paper prison. Thus began my quest for publication.The road was long and bumpy, with occasional pitfalls, but I'm staying on until I can no longer put words on the paper that make any sense or serve no valid purpose. Here's to rebirth and the celebration of writing
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

